Midi-Bindings - Long Press/Softstep

Problems getting SL up and running on a Mac? Post here.

Moderator: jesse

fadster7575

Midi-Bindings - Long Press/Softstep

Post by fadster7575 »

hi, I'm new to SooperLooper, and recently bought a Softstep 1 to go with Mainstage/SooperLooper.
At the moment I can't map a long-press function to a pad/key, i.e. only the PC mode i.e. press and release.
What I want to do is say - have one pad 'short-press' to function 'undo' and same pad 'long-press' 'undo-all' .
any wizzos there who can help me out on this one?

thanks
jesse

Re: Midi-Bindings - Long Press/Softstep

Post by jesse »

To do a long-press your device needs to send Note On/Off events on press and release, which I assume the soft step can be configured to do. It *might* work with a momentary CC (where 127 is sent on press, and 0 is sent on release)... but I'd need to check if SL does in fact support that.

Anyway, if you make the binding a Note, it will definitely work.
fadster7575

Post by fadster7575 »

the device is set to default which is 'midi-note' however if I use 'midi-learn' function - it is recognized as 'pc' and nothing else.
I don't know how to change the softstep for it to be recognized as a 'note' rather than 'pc'.
fadster7575

Post by fadster7575 »

another quick one Jesse,
is there a way of Ending the performance, i.e. pressing stop, which then fades out any remaining loops to zero?
I remember I had that function with BOSS Looper, it was very useful. Otherwise I have to manually adjust the fader on the mixer, which is a bit of a hassle during performance.
thanks again for your input
jesse

Post by jesse »